Good News and Bad News

The good news is that next year, I’m free to do whatever I want, in whatever line of work I choose, anywhere in the United States (or, theoretically, Great Britain). The bad news is it won’t be a PhD program. The last rejection notice came in today.

Next year’s résumé will be extra-padded, though. The schools I applied to this year were actually denied transcripts from Queen Mary, due to the UK system’s slow, obfuscatory grading system. In all likelihood having had grades would have tipped the scales. Just to make sure, I’ll be armed in the fall with a master’s degree, barring unforeseen disaster. I’ll also bring more language experience: a year of intensive Latin classes, for one thing, and in a few weeks I will publish somewhere online my translation of a French essay (!). My 100th CD review will be submitted this week, and there’s also a slight possibility of getting some photography published. A couple writing projects are in various stages of progress.

Bottom line: don’t say sorry or anything like that. I’m not really worried at all. Good things are gonna happen. The best revenge is living well!

2 Comments

Filed under Reality

2 responses to “Good News and Bad News

  1. Sorin

    I am looking forward to getting my hands on these writing projects when they reach fruition because I will eventually finish my stash of Kurt Vonnegut and Garrison Keillor and I am counting on you to fill the void. No pressure.

  2. Caitlin

    I’m not sorry. I’m shocked and angry on your behalf. What on earth were these programs thinking? You’re fantastic and incredibly intellectual and passionate about learning; they are missing out, without question. But I appreciate your well-adjusted outlook. What’s next?

Leave a Reply

